a journal: textiles, inspiration, musings

another summer project

I have also worked on a hand-sewing project with Dijanne Cevaal……her online Travellers Blanket classes..which could be done while sitting with family or minding grandchildren. I loved how she works into hand dyed muslin, which appealed to me as I had been working on dyed scrim and hand dyed open weaves with my Happy Cloths, but hadn’t thought of layering them the way Dijanne does. Her work is lovely and very expressive, which inspired me to do one for myself; and it has been nice to have something to do while I was sitting with family over summer…….different to the machine embroidery, but very free and an opportunity to practise some hand embroidery . My Blanket is based on a sea theme…it will eventually have some kantha-type stitches around the blocks, which will unify it .

Have posted some progress pics below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments on: "another summer project" (1)

Leave a Reply

