a journal: textiles, inspiration, musings

Fabric Samples

..another “missed” exercise, the request in chapter 2  to put together a selection of fabrics that I use for stitching on.

I thought this would be a bit of a dry “must do” exercise…..until I started on it. Then I realised how many different surfaces I have used for stitching on, and found I couldn’t stop putting together samples once I’d started; it was a lot of fun.  Also thought with all these backgrounds I have been playing with, it really is time to start working on them more..which is why i need this course, to get me focussed on following through from endless  samples to design and finished work!

I put small samples of each “fabric”..often unconventional ones……onto a felt background and stitched through them with a simple automatic stitch to hold them together, and to show that they really can take stitch well. Then because I ended up with 4 pages of samples, I made a keycard for each one to explain what the samples are.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

